Big Bash League play-offs: Sydney Thunder and Brisbane Heat confirmed as top five teams

The Big Bash League (BBL) play-offs were won by the Sydney Thunder and Brisbane Heat.

On Friday, January 27, the two teams will face off in the Eliminator.

The Heat lost their final group game by two runs to the Hobart Hurricanes, failing to chase 121 and keeping the Hurricanes’ slim qualification hopes alive.

However, the Thunder’s three-wicket win over the Melbourne Stars in Wednesday’s second game ensured that they and the Heat edged out the Hurricanes for the final two spots.

Both games were low-scoring affairs that took place on slow pitches that favored the bowlers.

Hurricanes seamer Nathan Ellis, who won the T20 Blast with Hampshire last summer, took 2-26 before Tim David defended 10 from the final over.

Leg-spinner Adam Zampa took 3-25 for the Stars, who finished last in the table, but Thunder finished their 120-ball chase with seven balls to spare.

How do the playoffs function?
The top five teams advance. The defending champions, the Perth Scorchers, finished first in their group, followed by the Sydney Sixers, Melbourne Renegades, Thunder, and Heat.

The top two teams, the Scorchers and the Sixers, will compete in the Qualifier (28 January), with the winner advancing to the final on Saturday, 4 February.

The Thunder and Heat meet in the Eliminator (27 January), with the winner going on to face the Renegades in the Knockout on 29 January.

The winner of that match will face the loser of the Qualifier match in the Challenger match on February 2nd to earn the second spot in the final.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *