Argentina forward Lionel Messi takes home the Best Fifa Men’s Player of the Year honor.

The 2022 Best Fifa Awards have recognized Lionel Messi of Argentina and Paris St. Germain as the male player of the year.

The 35-year-old won the award ahead of French attackers Karim Benzema and Kylian Mbappe.

Messi scored 27 goals in 49 games for club and country in 2021–2022 as he led Argentina to World Cup victory in Qatar.

Women’s player of the year was awarded to Alexia Putellas of Barcelona.

Wiegman and Putellas receive significant female accolades.
Messi, who received the honor a second time, exclaimed: “It’s incredible. It’s been a fantastic year, and I’m honored to be here and get this honor. I wouldn’t be here if it weren’t for my teammates.

“I fulfilled the long-held dream I had hoped for. Very few people are able to do that, and I was fortunate enough to do it.

Lionel Scaloni, who guided Argentina to their third World Cup victory, was voted men’s coach of the year at the ceremony in Paris.

Scaloni won the award ahead of Carlo Ancelotti of Real Madrid and Pep Guardiola of Manchester City, who led his team to the Champions League trophy and a sixth consecutive Premier League triumph.

Sarina Wiegman, the manager of England, won the title of women’s coach of the year after guiding the Lionesses to their first major victory at home in the European Championship last year.

Emiliano Martinez of Aston Villa and Argentina received the title for best male goalkeeper, and Mary Earps of England took home the prize for best female goalkeeper.

Martinez, 30, contributed to his nation’s victory in the World Cup by saving four penalties along the way, including one in the final shootout victory over France.

Earps, a Women’s Super League player for Manchester United, started each of England’s six Euro 2022 games en route to the team’s championship.

How Martinez became the best goalie in the world
The Fifa Puskas award went to Polish team Warta Poznan’s amputee football player Marcin Oleksy for scoring the year’s best goal. He used his crutches to propel an incredible overhead volley against Stal Rzeszow into the goal.

The winner of the fair play award was Luka Lochoshvili, who restrained his opponent, Georg Teigl, from speaking after the midfielder had lost consciousness in order to preserve his life.

Thibaut Courtois, Achraf Hakimi, Virgil van Dijk, Joao Cancelo, Kevin De Bruyne, Luka Modric, Casemiro, Lionel Messi, Karim Benzema, Erling Haaland, and Kylian Mbappe make up the Fifpro men’s world XI.

XI Men’s World Cup
Complete list of winners
Lionel Messi is the best player among men.

The top female athlete is Alexia Putellas.

Emiliano Martinez is the best goalie among guys.

Mary Earps is the best goalkeeper among women.

Lionel Scaloni is the top men’s coach.

Sarina Wiegman is the top female coach.

Marcin Oleksy won the Best Puskas prize.

Argentina fans receive the best fan award.

Luka Lochoshvili won the prize for the most fair play.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *